The Voter’s Ballot Box Blues


Columbia, MO Nov. 2, 2010  by David Rosman

The first time I voted was nineteen-hundred and seventy

And I didn’t like any of the choices placed in front of me.

For Senate and House and local candidates,

Except for taxes that would help educate.

I was standing there with those Voter Ballot Box Blues.

 

In ‘72 it was the war and the economy.

But, was Nixon and McGovern who were placed in front of me.

Lies about Vietnam and the Watergate,

Thought of moving to Canada before it’s too late.

I was standing there with those Voter Ballot Box Blues.

 

My crystal ball has been broken since two-thousand ten.

Why are candidates running against Obama and Sarah Palin?

It was Commies and Fascists and Theocratic ingrates,

And saving the nation before it’s too late.

I was standing there with those Voter Ballot Box Blues.

 

Now I am not looking forward to two-thousand twelve.

It will be a bitter fought war, this I can already tell.

It will be screaming and yelling, packed full of lies,

Nowhere on this planet is a place I could hide.

I will be standing there with those Voter Ballot Box Blues.

 

It’s election day and I am going out to vote,

I know there are choices but I don’t get the joke.

Conservatives, Democrats or Libertarians,

May I’ll just hide in a Grizzly bear’s den.

I will standing there with those Voter Ballot Box Blues.

 

The choices are pitiful, this I know is true.

There is a lot of frustration for me and for you.

Maybe I’ll vote for Pat Paulson or Alfred E. Newman?

Then there’s Christine O’Donnell. I just love comedians.

I will be standing there with those Voter Ballot Box blues.

 

David Rosman is an award winning editor, writer, professional speaker and college instructor in Communications, Ethics, Business and Politics. You can read more of David’s commentaries at ColumbiaMissourian.com and New York Journal of Books.com.

Return to InkandVoice.com

About David Rosman

David Rosman is an award winning editor, writer, professional speaker and college instructor in Communications, Ethics, Business and Politics. You can read more of David’s commentaries at ColumbiaMissourian.com, InkandVoice.com and NYJournalofBooks.com.
This entry was posted in Campaign Managment, Columbia, MO, Conspiracy Theories, Constitution, Ethics, Jouralism, MO, Political Commentary, Religion, Uncategorized, US and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Voter’s Ballot Box Blues

  1. Greg Mitchell says:

    a modern day Bob Dylan.

Leave a Reply

