Atheists Hate God!


By David Rosman  Columbia, MO  10/10/10

“You hate God!”

I was taken aback by the comment. The conversation started discussing the premise of my new book, A Christian Nation? This is my attempt is to examine the qualitative arguments from the two sides of the issue in a pragmatic way, researching the materials and claims made.

Though I am about two-thirds through the first draft and went into this project with a relatively open mind, I have come to a basic conclusion. Regardless of the definition of “founding” as first colonies or the writing of the Constitution, and regardless of the “Judo-Christian” claims made, the answer seems to be the U.S. was not and is not now a Christian nation.

It was this preliminary conclusion that caused the “outburst.” When I asked why I hated God, my conversation partner said it was because I was an atheist and all atheists hate God. In fact, he continued, all atheists hate religion. Knowing it would not make a difference if I said that I was an atheist and hated neither God nor religion, I gave a noncommittal reply and changed the subject.

I know my answer to this question, but I wanted to know if I am alone in my view. Doing what I do best, I took a survey of atheists. As of this date, I have received about two-dozen responses.

This is a two-part question. First, do atheists, agnostics and others who claim that the Abrahamic God, the Son and the Holy Spirit are the newest members of spiritual myths, hate God? For this query, the question does not include, Buddha, the multitude of Hindu deities or Wicca spirits.

Without exception, the answer was simple. How can someone love or hate something she does not believes exists.

Without something either physical or metaphysical, “hate” is a word that atheists just do not use when describing their feelings towards God or gods or spirits.

However, the second half of the question, do atheists hate religion, is a more complicated. Atheists, unlike many of their religious brethren, can separate the person from her religious beliefs or non-beliefs. 80-percent of respondents said it is not the religion itself, but the manifestations of religion that they have come to dislike and distrust, even hate.

Many respondents identified the false hopes provided by religious beliefs, such as in cases of illnesses or survival. Many refer to the numerous wars fought because of religious differences, even within the same religion, citing the “Troubles” in Ireland, the separation of Pakistan and India, and, of course, the terrorists of all religious persuasions against each other. Today, we focus on the Islamic terrorists, but there are Christian and Jewish terrorists who have committed murder in the name of their God.

Yes, wars have been fought over land, political ideologies and women (the Trojan War) mostly because religion and government were, and still are, so intimately intertwined It was only with God’s blessing that one side would prevail. It was often an omen from God that war would be declared.

This, of course, leads me to Apocalypse believers, whose readings of the Book of Revelation has become politically activated, possibly leading to the greatest danger facing the world today – an uncontrolled nuclear arms race.

This is not to say that all who believe in the Abrahamic God are destined for evil. The vast majority have given of themselves, their hearts and purse strings, to help those who suffer around the planet without regard to their faith. Many of these same men and women would contribute the same efforts without the community of their church.

As to the need for religion, I can only state my opinion as to its necessity. For many, uncertainty of the future, whether in life or after death, is inconceivable; chaos cannot be tolerated, the “Safety” issue in Maslow’s Hierarchy of Need. For many, the knowledge that a power greater than themselves is caring and watching over one’s well-being, that a future may be predestined, provides him comfort.

I disagree with the notion that religion takes advantage of just the un- and under-educated, and poor. There are many persons of wealth and highly educated that are believers. Scientists who belong to fundamentalist and evangelical churches, orthodox temples and mosques. Millionaires and billionaires who fully endorse their religions spiritually, emotionally and financially, claiming in return their success in life.

Back to the original question. Do atheists hate God? No, they do not. Do atheists hate religion? The moderates will say it is not religion they hate, but the evils that emanate from greed, megalomania and the misguided readings of the holy books. But, then again, we atheists too have our radicals.

David Rosman is an award winning speaker, editor, writer, and college instructor in Communications, Ethics, Business and Politics. You can read more of David’s commentaries at ColumbiaMissourian.com and New York Journal of Books.com.

About David Rosman

David Rosman is an award winning editor, writer, professional speaker and college instructor in Communications, Ethics, Business and Politics. You can read more of David’s commentaries at ColumbiaMissourian.com, InkandVoice.com and NYJournalofBooks.com.
This entry was posted in Atheism, Christianity, Columbia, MO, Conspiracy Theories, Ethics, Islam, MO, Political Commentary, Religion, US. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Atheists Hate God!

  1. When students put burden, passion, and vision together they will not only discover their mission, but also joy. Politics Government Wholesale

  2. Rachel says:

    Two personal experiences this column reminded me of:

    1) A person considering herself a “strong Christian” asked me how it was I became an atheist, and whether I “got mad at God.” I told her I was never really “mad at God,” because I don’t recall ever being in a mode when I felt as though I was in some sort of relationship. When I was a kid I said prayers, and learned Bible stories…but I read a lot of books as a kid, and I think I just sort of thought of this “God” as something like a character in a novel – “real,” but only in the books, not literally, in real life. I don’t remember a big, dramatic moment of “breaking up” with God.

    2) When my brother had his first episode of schizophrenia, when he was about 20 and I was about 23, I remember saying to my family as we drove home from the hospital, that I was furious at all the people who go around trying to reassure other people that there’s some God up there, whose will my brother’s illness was, or who sympathizes with our suffering (but not to the point of stopping it of course), or who will somehow make everything ok. My Dad said that if I was mad at God, that was a sort of evidence that there was a God, but I told him, “didnt you hear what I just said? I’m not mad at some ‘God,’ I’m mad at the PEOPLE who go around telling others there is one.”

  3. Rick Massey says:

    Because “faith” is by definition choosing to believe in something you cannot support with evidence, people of faith take it very personally when someone rejects what they have accepted. Deep down they realize that their position cannot be logically supported. They feel threatened and rejected when others reject what they have adopted as the guiding principal of their lives. The idea cannot withstand logical scrutiny. So it lives in the realm of emotion. It should come as no surprise then, that resistance is met with an emotional response. You cannot prove you don’t “hate” God any more than they can prove his/its existence. Thus, they have succeeded in moving you to a battlefield on which they will at worst tie, but they will never lose the argument.

  4. Dan C says:

    After 9/11, I thought long and hard and decided that any action taken based on blind belief is an evil act.
    This means that it doesn’t matter what you believe: what matters are the actions taken. If those actions are taken based on a non-questioning belief in something, then that something is probably either incomplete or untrue, or worse: coerced by some system of paternalistic control, and will probably yield evil results.
    The CONCEPT of a Creator is fine. It represents the ultimate in net usefulness: everything being created from zero resources. In our daily lives, however, the things we do always consume some resource. We must be ever diligent to put back something to make up for what we consume, or we go extinct as a species.
    It is a failure of science, religion, philosophy, and human thought to seek a future which is based on blind belief in anything that is not actually sensed. To allow others to create nonsensed ‘truths’ is a failure of society. When we allow actual facts to be kept secret that may have bearing on our beliefs, we also fail our children.

  5. A very refreshing column. I’m interested in the book, when it’s finished.

    I subscribe to a variety of impulses when it comes to belief, considering myself a Zen-Shinto-Jew. Along with that I have a deep respect for science that places my ZSJ beliefs in the comfortable realm of hypothesis. Questioning make it all the more interesting than “knowing.”

    Do I believe in god(s)? Yes and no. Now, as I try explaining that to single minded Judeo-Christian-Islamic religionists, I’m fully aware that what I say falls on deaf ears ninety percent of the time. I follow my three religions because they speak to me in some way. I don’t expect anyone to believe as I believe, and would even discourage such a proposition simply because this works for me. In other words, “go find your own.”

    My brother considers himself a “non-theist.” It has a simple poetry to it. He simple refuses to ask the question of god(s). It’s irrelevant to him. I don’t have his experience and he doesn’t have mine, and our relationship has a blessed symmetry to it.

    I don’t believe in an all powerful being with personal jealousies. I do believe in a singularity of energy and information of which any nameable and any un-nameable quality or quantity is a part. It’s personal because I’m a part of it, but it’s also impersonal because I’m only a part of it. (A note of relevance: The Japanese word “kami,” translated to English as “god,” doesn’t mean “god” at all. It’s a different quality altogether–not directly translatable. On that count, I don’t believe in god(s).) If science proves a point of my belief to be in error, I cease to believe it. So, this makes me both a theist and a non-theist.

    In the final analysis, god or no god isn’t the issue. How do you treat other people other creatures, your environment, etc., believing or dis believing whatever you want to believe or disbelieve. Religionists with a predatory drive to force the whole world believe as they believe bring nothing to the effort to make the world a better place, and they usually leave only blood and fear in their wake.

    I’m proud of my brother for refusing to ask the question. He has more going for him in his compassion for those around him, than all the evangelists of any faith. He respects me and my beliefs, and when I need he’s there to help.

    I can’t ask for more than that.

  6. Wazaghun says:

    Saying that atheists hate god and/or religion is a convenient way to declare them as people not worth of discussion. Its a swift path for those that do not actually want to discuss things.

    Using terms like “hate” helps building an emotional momentum against you.

  7. viaga kaufen says:

    Of course, what a great site and informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards,
    Reader.

  8. What I dont understand is how youre not even more popular than you are now. Youre just so intelligent. You know so much about this subject, made me think about it from so many different angles. Its like people arent interested unless it has something to do with Lady Gaga! Your stuffs great. Keep it up!

  9. I know it sounds crazy but this reminded me of Abraham Lincoln’s: “Everybody likes a compliment.”

Leave a Reply

