Can Conservatives read?


Columbia, MO – I wonder if Conservatives can read. I wonder if they have ever read the First Amendment. The very first sentence reads, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof…”

Watching C-SAN last weekend, I heard a most disturbing thing from members of the upper House of the United States Congress.  Something that would have our Founders’ resurrect just to V-8 slap the fools. Or, like my mother did to me once, a slap across the back of the head. With a wooden spoon.

Now, I do not mind a senator or representative invoking God’s good grace at the end of a speech. Well, I do, but I am more tolerant than most of the right-winged fools opening their mouths these days. I accept people who do not agree with me.

I do mind when a group of senators discussing the “lack of proof” for global warming (or heating depending on the scientist) using God to deny the science. Or that only God will undo what man has done to this planet – or at least accelerated. That climate change is God’s punishment for… well you can fill in the blank.  

Nature has cycles of cold or heat, but as Bill Maher suggested on October 2, open your eyes, you believers in a Christian theocratic government. Don’t look at profits, look at life.

This is not a discussion of global warming but of the threat of the United States becoming a theocratic nation, much like Afghanistan during the Taliban, today’s Iran, the Vatican and other  governments that cannot separate democracy from religious zeal. It is as if the First Amendment does not exist.

I am a self-proclaimed heathen. A Jewish, agnostic, humanist, Buddhist, Unitarian with a Catholic education; I graduated from St. Louis University, a Jesuit institution. I support every belief, or the lack of, on the planet. I believe there are so many interpretations of the creation, the afterlife and the hand that guides, that no one is right and no one is wrong.

The fact that United States senators are advocating a theocratic government, that God blesses only the United States, scares the hell out of me. The fact that television evangelists are evoking conservative politics as a form of conversion, using the threat of eternal damnation, causes me to think that I need to create a stock pile of supplies, weapons and ammunition to protect my family and me from right-wing religious fanatics. (Don’t forget the toilet paper!)

God was never part of the Declaration of Independence, of the United States Constitution or of the Bill of Rights. Our Founding Fathers and Mothers were not all religious or believers.  We need to be mindful of what they so wisely knew: We should give unto Caesar what is Caesar’s and unto God what is God’s.

About David Rosman

David Rosman is an award winning editor, writer, professional speaker and college instructor in Communications, Ethics, Business and Politics. You can read more of David’s commentaries at ColumbiaMissourian.com, InkandVoice.com and NYJournalofBooks.com.
This entry was posted in Ethics, Political Commentary, US and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can Conservatives read?

  1. Hugh says:

    David – Sorry but one phrase kind of threw me off:
    Can you clarify what you mean when you state:
    “no one is right and no one is wrong.” I genuinely want to understand what you are saying and the context in which you are saying it. Thanks in advance for your reply.

    • inkandvoice says:

      Hugh – In this case, there can be no “one right” religion. Last night a speech student gave a wonderful presentation on the Bahai, an offshoot of the Islam faith. Hindus and Buddhists do not acknowledge the western God or gods, depending on where you are from.

      In a recent article in the Columbia Missourian, I suggested that we need to rename Columbia Day to Discovery Day to honor the original settlers, the explorers from China and Japan and Leif Erickson, as well as all of those Europeans who “discovered” the world. One line that was rudely removed by a student editor suggested, “that if the Vikings followed Leif to settle the New World, many of us would be praying to Odin and Thor rather than God and Christ.”
      There is no “right” religion. There is no “wrong” religion. Even true heretics and atheists have beliefs and can be “spiritual” without western gods.

      I do hope this helps. David

  2. Hugh says:

    David –
    I absolutely agree that “Even true heretics and atheists have beliefs and can be ‘spiritual’ without western gods.”
    But I’m still confused as to why you would juxtapose that statement with the statement that “There is no ‘right religion’.”
    Please do clarify because I think (and I could be wrong :) you are on to something.
    Sincerely,
    Hugh

Leave a Reply

